There I was… on the Congo.

Tonight, I had dinner on the banks of the Congo River.  It was a surreal experience.  I saw the water flowing by with clumps of river grass and dugout canoes making their way up and down the river.  The pilots of these boats were constantly yelling back and forth at each other in their own languages.  There were also the boats that made regular trips across the river between Kinshasa and Brazzaville.  I couldn’t help but be amazed at where I was.  I think I had a similar feeling when flying over the Mississippi.  It just seemed like such an epic event for some reason. 

I ate dinner with the Chief Pilot and some South African businessmen that he knew and some Congolese people.  Most of the conversations were in French, which was a minor problem to me.  One of the Congolese helped me translate some into English.  That helped a lot.  The one that translated was about my age.  He spoke several African languages as well as French and English.  He worked for one of the South Africans, handling all of the day to day business for him.

It seems as if everyone that’s in this country from other places is either here to make a buck or to make a difference.  I have yet to see how effective either is. 

Tags:

5 Responses to “There I was… on the Congo.”

  1. Bethany Says:

    Sounds like you are having quite the adventure! I’m glad you made to Africa for real now. Take care!

  2. Courtney Says:

    That is really cool, Patrick. I think I need to come visit you. What an amazing experience!

  3. Kloggers Says:

    It sounds as though you are really living a dream out there. Take care – best wishes from England.

  4. Matthew Says:

    Cool stuff. Let me know what bushmeat tastes like…

  5. africanized Says:

    I’ll send you a roasted monkey paw for your birthday.

Leave a Reply

